Bike to Fitness

Health, Endurnace and Performance

Gran Fondo San Diego – A Birthday to Remember

The first annual ride was much tougher than I anticipated.  Hot, dehydrated, my legs cramped up several times.  It was to my own amazement that I finished; 95 miles, nearly 9 hours later and ~6,000’ of elevation gain.

A well organized event, overall; plenty of rest stops, portable rest rooms, and mechanical support, although I didn’t see any first aid station.  A couple of rest stops ran out of water but quickly restocked.  I’m most impressed with the well marked route.

I will most definitely sign up again.

One response to “Gran Fondo San Diego – A Birthday to Remember

  1. tim March 3, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Happy birthday and congrats on your achievement of 6000\’ elevation! Hope to see you in the coming weekend to celebrate your "late" birthday dining! Tatsu

Leave a comment