Bike to Fitness

Health, Endurnace and Performance

Nuun vs. GU Brew Electrolyte Tablets

Being a long time user of Cytomax® Performance Drink, I decided to experiment with electrolyte tablets.  I wanted to train my body to burn fat more efficiently by cutting back on Calories consumed during 1-2 hour training rides while maintaining optimal on-bike hydration.  Water along, I found, was not sufficient.  A few times during training, my calves were having muscle cramp.

Both Nuun and GU Brew received good review and were available from Performance Bicycle.  I gave both a try for 3 weeks and had good result and no muscle cramp.

I prefer Nuun.  It tastes better, and unlike GU Brew, it doesn’t leave a salty aftertaste – which I found surprising after comparing the nutritional facts of the two.  Nuun has a higher amount of salt/electrolyte per serving.

  Nuun GU Brew
Calories 8 10
Sodium 360 mg 320 mg
Potassium 100 mg 55 mg
Calcium 12.5 mg  
Magnesium 25 mg  
Vitamin C 37.5 mg  
Vitamin B2 500 mcg  
Ingredients Citric Acid, Sorbitol, Sodium Carbonate, Natural Colors Flavors, Sodium Bicarbonate, Potassium Bicarbonate, Polyethylene Glycol, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Benzoate, Calcium Carbonate, Acesulfame Potassium, Riboflavin-5-phosphate. Citric Acid, Sodium Bicarbonate, Sorbitol, Natural Flavors, Fructose, Potassium Bicarbonate, Sodium Carbonate, Stevia Leaf Extract, Sesame Oil, Magnesium Oxide

 

If you are interested, also try Endurolytes Fizz from Hammer Nutrition and leave me a comment of what you think.

Leave a comment